Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Robert W. Hayes Jr. Michael Hitchcock Andrew N. Safran Lucy Grey McIver



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

November 30, 2018

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 19–November 29, 2018:

Family Court

1 st Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Anne Guè Jones, Orangeburg, SC
2 nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Angela W. Abstance, Barnwell, SC
3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Angela R. Taylor, Sumter, SC
3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Gordon B. Jenkinson, Kingstree, SC
4 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Salley Huggins McIntyre, Dillon, SC
5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Michelle M. Hurley, Columbia, SC
5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Michael Scott Rankin, Camden, SC Carrie Hall Tanner, Elgin, SC
6 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Coreen B. Khoury, Lancaster, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Phillip K. Sinclair, Spartanburg, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Michael Todd Thigpen, Roebuck, SC
8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Matthew Price Turner, Laurens, SC
8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Joseph C. Smithdeal, Greenwood, SC

9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Alice Anne Richter, Mount Pleasant, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Wayne M. Creech, Pinopolis, SC
10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Edgar Henderson Long Jr., Anderson, SC
11 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Huntley S. Crouch, Lexington, SC
11 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Robert E. Newton, Lexington, SC
12 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Timothy H. Pogue, Marion, SC
12 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable FitzLee Howard McEachin, Florence, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Rochelle Y. Conits, Greer, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable W. Marsh Robertson, Greenville, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6	Kimaka (Kim) Nichols-Graham, Greenville, SC The Honorable Jessica Ann Salvini, Greenville, SC
14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Gerald C. Smoak Jr., Walterboro, SC
14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Deborah Ann Malphrus, Ridgeland, SC
15 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Jan B. Bromell Holmes, Georgetown, SC
16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable David G. Guyton, Rock Hill, SC
At-Large, Seat 2	The Honorable Tony M. Jones, Rock Hill, SC
At-Large, Seat 3	The Honorable James G. McGee III, Florence, SC
At-Large, Seat 5	The Honorable Randall E. McGee, St. Matthews, SC
At-Large, Seat 6	The Honorable David Earl Phillips, Easley, SC
Administrative Law Court	
Seat 1	The Honorable Ralph King (Tripp) Anderson III, Columbia,

The Honorable Ralph King (Tripp) Anderson III, Columbia, SC **Thomas Rosamond Smith**, Columbia, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified:

Master-In-Equity

Abbeville County	Roy R. Hemphill, Greenwood, SC
Aiken County	The Honorable Maurice Anderson Griffith, Aiken, SC
Georgetown County	The Honorable Joe M. Crosby, Pawleys Island, SC
Kershaw County	The Honorable Jeffrey M. Tzerman, Lugoff, SC
Lee County	The Honorable Stephen Bryan Doby, Bishopville, SC
Lexington County	The Honorable James Otto Spence, Lexington, SC
Sumter County	Michael McKinney Jordan, Sumter, SC A. Paul Weissenstein Jr., Sumter, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 15, 2019. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time. The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 6, 2019.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.